National Sports Awards 2023: President Droupadi Murmu conferred National Sports Awards


National Sports Awards 2023

National Sports Awards 2023 announced by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, recognizing individuals’ and institution’s performance in their respective fields. On Tuesday, President Droupadi Murmu conferred the Arjuna Awards to various sports personalities, athletes, coaches, and organizations for their exceptional contributions to sports in the country at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami has received the Arjuna Award, which is India’s second-highest sporting honor, in recognition of his exceptional performance over the last four years. The highest sporting honor in India is the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award.

Numerous athletes from different sports have been chosen for the National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023, among them World Cup hero Mohammed Shami the standout bowler in the tournament, claiming an impressive 24 wickets from just 7 matches, shooter Aishwarya Pratap Singh Tomar, Asian Games champions Ojas Pravin Deotale, and athlete Parul Chaudhary.

Shami said at the award ceremony, “This award is a dream, life passes and people are not able to win this award. I am happy that I have been nominated for this award.”

National Sports Awards 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives the Arjun Award from President Droupadi Murmu (Image Source: Video grabs @ANI)

In December, the Sports Ministry announced the nominees for the annual sports awards, confirming the prestigious Khel Ratna honor for badminton players Chirag Shetty and Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy, and the Arjuna Award for 26 sports personalities. On January 9, a total of 26 athletes were presented with the Arjun award.

The Arjun Award is conferred to the following disciplines:

Cricket, Asian Games, Olympic Games, World Championship Disciplines, Commonwealth Games, Parasports, Indigenous Games

National Sports Awards 2023

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award 2023 (For Badminton):

Satwik Sairaj Rankireddy – Badminton – Amalapuram, Andhra Pradesh

Chirag Shetty – Badminton – Malad, Mumbai

List of Arjun Award 2023

Mohammed Shami – Indian cricketer – Amroha, Uttar Pradesh

Murali Sreeshankar – Indian athlete – Palakkad, Kerala

Parul Chaudhary – Indian athlete – Meerut, Uttar Pradesh

Pawan Sehrawat – Indian kabaddi player – New Delhi

Ritu Negi – Kabaddi player – Himachal Pradesh

Vaishali Rameshbabu – Indian chess grandmaster – Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Sunil Kumar – Indian amateur wrestler – South West Delhi

Antim Panghal – Indian professional wrestler – Hisar, Haryana

Krishan Pathak – Indian field hockey player – Kapurthala, Punjab

Sushila Chanu – Indian field hockey player – Imphal, Manipur

Esha Singh – Indian professional shooter – Hyderabad, Telangana

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar – Indian professional shooter – Khargone district, Madhya Pradesh

Diksha Dagar – Indian professional golfer – Chappar, Jhajjar, Haryana

Mohammad Hussamuddin – Indian boxer – Nizamabad, Telangana

Aditi Swami – Indian archer – Satara, Maharashtra

Ojas Pravin Deotale – Indian archer – Nagpur, Maharashtra

Ayhika Mukherjee – Indian table tennis player – Naihati, West Bengal

Harinder Pal Sandhu – Indian squash player – Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Sheetal Devi – Indian Para-Archery Player – Loidhar, Kishtwar, Jammu and Kashmir

Anush Agarwalla – Indian Equestrian – Kolkata, West Bengal

Pinki Singh – Lawn Bowls – Delhi

Divyakriti Singh – Indian Equestrian – Jaipur, Rajasthan

Ajay Kumar Reddy – Indian Para-Cricketer – Macherla, Guntur district, Andhra Pradesh

Prachi Yadav – Indian Paracanoe athlete – Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh

Naorem Roshibina Devi – Indian Wushu Player – Bishnpur District, Manipur.

Nasreen Shaikh – Indian Kho Kho Player – Shakurpur, Delhi

Dronacharya Award 2023 (for Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games):

Mahavir Saini (Para-athletics)

Ganesh Prabhakaran (Mallakhamb)

RB Ramesh (Chess)

Lalit Kumar (Wrestling)

Shivendra Singh (Hockey)

Dhyan Chand Lifetime Award 2023:

Vineet Kumar Sharma (hockey)

Manjusha Kanwar (badminton)

Kavita (kabaddi)

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy 2023:

Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar (Winner)

Lovely Professional University, Punjab (1st runners-up)

Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra (2nd runners-up)

Read also:

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 Schedule

ICC revealed nominees for December Player of the Month

Heinrich Klaasen announced retirement from test cricket on 08 Jan

India vs Afghanistan T20I series: Rohit and Virat return, know schedule and squad

2 thoughts on “National Sports Awards 2023: President Droupadi Murmu conferred National Sports Awards”

Leave a Comment