Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights, BBL: Brisbane Heat won by 23 runs


Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights: Paul Walter and Spencer Johnson’s crucial wickets, along with Michael Neser’s impactful 64 runs, propelled Brisbane Heat to a 23-run victory over Perth Scorchers, solidifying their position at the top of the points table.

Match – 32nd Match, PRS vs BRH, Big Bash League 2023-24

Venue – The Gabba, Brisbane

Date – 10 January 2024, Wednesday

Time – 2:10 PM

Toss – Brisbane Heat won the toss and opted to bat first


Brisbane Heat (Playing XI):

Usman Khawaja(c), Colin Munro, Marnus Labuschagne, Sam Billings(w), Matt Renshaw, Michael Neser, Paul Walter, Xavier Bartlett, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Spencer Johnson

Perth Scorchers (Playing XI):

Zak Crawley, Sam Whiteman, Aaron Hardie(c), Josh Inglis(w), Laurie Evans, Cooper Connolly, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Lance Morris, Hamish McKenzie

Table-topper Brisbane Heat have already secured their spot in the playoffs, and a victory today would guarantee the Perth Scorchers a place as well. There’s a high likelihood that these two teams might meet again in the qualifier next Friday. Brisbane Heat is the only undefeated team in this season. On the other hand, the Perth Scorchers need to win two out of their next three matches to secure a top-two finish.

Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights
Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights: Brisbane Heat players after winning the match

Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights

Brisbane Heat Innings

Brisbane Heat initiated their innings confidently, with Colin Munro dismissed early by Jason Behrendorff. Despite this setback, Usman Khawaja and Marnus Labuschagne continued to find the boundaries. Khawaja contributed 14 runs before being dismissed by Jason Behrendorff. Labuschagne played a crucial role, adding a 33-ball 45. However, the Heat faced challenges in the middle overs.

Matt Renshaw chipped in with 18 runs, while wicket-keeper Sam Billings contributed a quick 37 runs from 21 balls. Michael Neser played a significant innings, scoring a rapid 64* from 30 balls, guiding the Heat to a formidable total. Billings provided crucial support, and their partnership for the 6th wicket added 80 runs. In the last 6 overs, Neser’s outstanding hitting resulted in boundaries, helping Brisbane Heat reach a total of 191/6.

Although Behrendorff made an impactful start by taking two opening wickets, he conceded runs during the death overs. Ashton Agar emerged as the standout bowler, finishing with figures of 2/29. Lance Morris and Jhye Richardson each managed to take one wicket.

Brisbane Heat Scorecard

Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights

Perth Scorchers Innings

Brisbane Heat secures the top spot with a victory over Perth Scorchers. Perth Scorchers’ opening batters struggled to maintain the required run rate initially, with Zak Crawley scoring 13 runs from 13 balls and Sam Whiteman adding 16 runs from 16 balls. Neser, who not only batted well but also took the wicket of Zak Crawley, was a key contributor. Subsequently, Spencer Johnson dismissed Sam Whiteman.

During the batting powerplay, the Scorchers faced difficulties in scoring against Heat’s new-ball bowlers, who consistently picked up wickets at regular intervals. While only Josh Inglis and Laurie Evans managed a quick 48-run partnership, they later lacked support from the other end. Inglis contributed 28 runs, and Laurie Evans secured 51 runs from 29 balls before being caught and bowled by Paul Walter in the 19th over.

Spencer Johnson and Xavier Bartlett maintained their composure, each taking two wickets. However, Michael Neser, who made a valuable contribution with both runs and wickets, claimed two wickets. Paul Walter also secured two wickets, while Matthew Kuhnemann took one wicket.

Perth Scorchers Scorecard

Points Table

Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights


Brisbane Heat Squad:

Usman Khawaja(c), Sam Billings(w), Marnus Labuschagne, Xavier Bartlett, Max Bryant, Spencer Johnson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Nathan McSweeney, Colin Munro, Matt Renshaw, Mitchell Swepson, Paul Walter, Jack Wildermuth, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson

Perth Scorchers Squad:

Aaron Hardie(c), Josh Inglis(w), Zak Crawley, Sam Whiteman, Laurie Evans, Cooper Connolly, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Lance Morris, Jason Behrendorff, Stephen Eskinazi, Nick Hobson, Andrew Tye, Hamish McKenzie

Read also:

National Sports Awards 2023: President Droupadi Murmu conferred National Sports Awards

1 thought on “Brisbane Heat vs Perth Scorchers highlights, BBL: Brisbane Heat won by 23 runs”

Leave a Comment