Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights, BBL: ADS beat HBH by 5 wickets


Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights: Matthew Short and Chris Lynn’s partnership Strikers won by 5 wickets, and remain 5th in the point table. Ben McDermott played an outstanding innings of 95 runs.

Match – 31st Match, HBH vs ADS, Big Bash League 2023-24

Venue – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Date – 09 January 2024, Tuesday

Time – 2:10 PM

Toss – Adelaide Strikers won the toss and opted to field first


Hobart Hurricanes (Playing XI):

Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott(w), Macalister Wright, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Tim David, Nikhil Chaudhary, Chris Jordan, Patrick Dooley, Nathan Ellis(c), Riley Meredith

Adelaide Strikers (Playing XI):

Matthew Short(c), D Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Alex Carey(w), Adam Hose, Thomas Kelly, Jamie Overton, Henry Thornton, David Payne, Cameron Boyce, Lloyd Pope

Today, the Adelaide Strikers will face off against the Hobart Hurricanes at the Adelaide Oval. The Strikers boast a solid top order, while the Hobart Hurricanes possess a bowling attack capable of dismantling even the most formidable batting line-ups. The pitch at this venue has proven favorable for batsmen in previous matches.

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights
Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights: Ben McDermott played an unbeaten innings of 95 runs

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights

Hobart Hurricanes Innings

Hobart Hurricanes encountered a tough situation following the dismissal of Caleb Jewell. However, Ben McDermott steadied the innings. In the initial 10 overs, Jamie Overton and Cameron Boyce bowled exceptionally well, causing the Hurricanes to lose five wickets, including Sam Hain and Nikhil Chaudhary dismissed for golden ducks.

Despite the struggles of most top-order batters, McDermott and Jordan formed a crucial partnership, bringing respectability to Hobart’s total. Jordan joined the batting lineup with the team at 66/6, contributing significantly to a pivotal 76-run partnership with McDermott. McDermott remained unbeaten, scoring 95 and taking the Hurricanes to a total of 165/7.

Hobart Hurricanes displayed a commendable recovery, considering the earlier challenging situation. Jamie Overton claimed three wickets, Cameron Boyce secured two, while David Payne and Lloyd Pope each took one wicket.

Hobart Hurricanes Scorecard

Adelaide Strikers vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights

Adelaide Strikers Innings

The Hurricanes set a total of 165 after opting to bat first. In response, the Strikers launched a spirited reply, with Matt Short and D’Arcy Short aggressively scoring right from the initial over. Matt Short continued his outstanding form, propelling the Strikers to 100 within the first 10 overs. However, D’Arcy Short, scoring 18 runs from 9 balls, was dismissed by captain Nathan Ellis.

Chris Lynn joined forces with Matt Short, forming a pivotal partnership for the Strikers. This duo left them needing only 66 runs in the last 10 overs, but the Hurricanes managed to take wickets at regular intervals to keep the match alive. Matt Short scored 45 runs before being dismissed by Patrick Dooley, while Lynn contributed 37 runs before being removed by Riley Meredith.

The Hurricanes consistently picked up wickets at crucial moments, but a significant innings from Alex Carey ensured victory for the Adelaide Strikers. Although the match went down to the last over, the Strikers secured the win with balls to spare. Captain Nathan Ellis claimed two wickets, while Patrick Dooley, Riley Meredith, and Chris Jordan each took one wicket.

Adelaide Strikers Scorecard

Points Table


Hobart Hurricanes Squad

Nathan Ellis(c), Matthew Wade(wk), Macalister Wright, Caleb Jewell, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Tim David, Nikhil Chaudhary, Patrick Dooley, Riley Meredith, Liam Guthrie, Chris Jordan, Mitchell Owen, Sam Heazlett, Billy Stanlake, Peter Hatzoglou, Ben McDermott, Iain Carlisle

Adelaide Strikers Squad:

Matthew Short(c), Harry Nielsen(w), D Arcy Short, Adam Hose, Chris Lynn, Thomas Kelly, Jamie Overton, James Bazley, Henry Thornton, Wes Agar, David Payne, Ben Manenti, Lloyd Pope, Cameron Boyce, Brendan Doggett

Read also:

Arjun Award 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives Arjun Award on Jan 9

India Vs South Africa Highlights Worldcup 2023: Virat’s 49th century, Ind defeat SA by 243 runs

Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka HIGHLIGHTS: Bangladesh defeated Sri Lanka by 3 wickets

Leave a Comment