Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight, BBL: Dwarshuis’s 5 wickets, Sydney Sixers won by 39 runs


Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight, BBL: Captain Moises Henriques’ 59 runs and Ben Dwarshuis five-wicket haul, Sydney Sixer enter into the BBL Final, and the Brisbane Heat are set to play another match in the Challenger round.

Match – Qualifier, SYS vs BRH, Big Bash League 2023-24

Venue – Carrara Oval, Queensland

Date – 19 January 2024, Friday

Time – 2:10 PM

Toss – Brisbane Heat won the toss and opted to bowl first


Brisbane Heat (Playing XI):

Jimmy Peirson(w), Josh Brown, Nathan McSweeney(c), Matt Renshaw, Max Bryant, Paul Walter, Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann

Sydney Sixers (Playing XI):

Daniel Hughes, Jack Edwards, Josh Philippe(w), Moises Henriques(c), Jordan Silk, Joel Davies, Hayden Kerr, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Todd Murphy, Steve Okeefe

Brisbane Heat did not make any change. On the other hand, the Sydney Sixers, made some changes, Vince and Jackson Bird replaced by Joel Davies and Steve O’Keefe.

As the victor advances to the final, today’s defeated team will have another opportunity by facing the winner of the Knockout. Brisbane Heat secured the top spot and suffered only one defeat in this season, which occurred against Perth Scorchers in their last round-robin fixture. Khawaja and Labuschagne absent as both played for nation. However, their bowling unit remains formidable, with Neser excelling with the new ball, Walter in the middle overs, and Bartlett at the death. Spencer Johnson, along with the spin duo of Swepson and Kuhnemann, adds further strength to their attack.

Securing a last-ball victory against the defending champions in their final group stage match propelled the Sydney Sixers to second-place on the points table, with just two losses this season. However, the Sixers will be missing James Vince due to his commitments in the ILT20.

Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight
Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight: Sydney Sixers 

Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlights

Sydney Sixers Innings

Opting to bat, Jack Edwards of the Sydney Sixers initiated their innings with three boundaries but fell victim to Neser’s bowling. Spencer Johnson delivered a wicket-maiden, contributing to a successful powerplay for the Brisbane Heat.

Moises Henriques and Daniel Hughes started cautiously, rebuilding the innings. The Sixers’ captain Henriques, hit a couple of boundaries against Swepson, pushing the team’s run rate above 6 by the end of the tenth over. Hughes and Henriques formed a 94-run partnership but Walter ended that partnership by removing Hughes, he scored 42 runs from 33 balls.

However, the table-topping Heat made a strong comeback. Neser claimed two more wickets in his final over, and despite being expensive, Bartlett removed the well-set batsman, Moises Henriques.

Johnson bowled an impressive over and just gave one run in the 19th over, and Dwarshuis’s six in the final over propelled the Sydney Sixers’ total beyond the 150 mark. The Sydney Sixers concluded their innings at 152/8.

Sydney Sixers Scorecard

Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight

Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight

Brisbane Heat Innings

Brisbane Heat started the run chase with 153 runs, with opener Josh Brown and Jimmy Peirson the only batsman to score the highest run for his team. Jack Edwards opened the innings with a maiden over, and from that point onward, they maintained their dominance. Jimmy Peirson scored 26 runs and fell victim to Hayden Kerr while Brown was dismissed by Dwarshuis.

The wickets are falling at regular intervals, scoring runs proved to be difficult. Despite the Heat’s attempt to play aggressively, they were unsuccessful. Ben Dwarshuis took a five-wicket haul, the rest of the bowling unit complimented his performance, and Jack Edwards shone on the field, taking four catches, including a sensational caught-and-bowled.

The Sixers have secured a win over the Brisbane Heat at the SCG, while the Brisbane Heat still have another opportunity, remaining in contention to face the loser of tomorrow’s game between the Scorchers and the Strikers.

Brisbane Heat Scorecard


Sydney Sixers Squad:

Moises Henriques(c), Josh Philippe(w), Jordan Silk, Daniel Hughes, Jack Edwards, Hayden Kerr, Ben Dwarshuis,  Jackson Bird, Todd Murphy, Kurtis Patterson, Joel Davies, Steve OKeefe, Mitchell Perry, Sean Abbott

Brisbane Heat Squad:

Nathan McSweeney(c), Jimmy Peirson(w), Josh Brown,  Matt Renshaw, Max Bryant, Paul Walter,  Spencer Johnson, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann, Jordan Buckingham, Charlie Wakim, Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett

Read also:

Big Bash League 2023-24 Finals: Know which 4 teams qualified for Qualifier, Knockout, Challenger & Final

Why did Ravi Bishnoi bowled in the Second Super Over instead of Avesh Khan, Whose idea of that?

1 thought on “Brisbane Heat v Sydney Sixers Qualifier highlight, BBL: Dwarshuis’s 5 wickets, Sydney Sixers won by 39 runs”

Leave a Comment