Arjun Award 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives Arjun Award on Jan 9


Arjun Award 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives Arjun Award Indian fast bowler Mohammed Shami has received the Arjuna Award, which is India’s second-highest sporting honor, in recognition of his exceptional performance over the last four years. The highest sporting honor in India is the Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award.

On Tuesday, President Droupadi Murmu conferred the Arjuna Awards to various sports personalities at the Rashtrapati Bhavan. Along with Cricketer Mohammed Shami, 25 more athletes got the Arjun Awards.

Mohammed Shami concluded the World Cup 2023 as the standout bowler in the tournament, claiming an impressive 24 wickets from just 7 matches. Board of Control for Cricket in India in recognition of his outstanding performance in the ODI World Cup 2023, put Shami’s nomination. On January 9, 2024, India’s fast bowler Mohammed Shami was honored with the Arjuna Award by the President of India, Droupadi Murmu.

Arjun Award 2023
Arjun Award 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives the Arjun Award from President Droupadi Murmu    (Image Source: Video grabs @ANI)

Shami said after the award ceremony, “This award is a dream, life passes and people are not able to win this award. I am happy that I have been nominated for this award.”

During the ICC Men’s ODI World Cup 2023, Shami initially did not play in the Indian playing XI for the first four games. Hardik Pandya’s injury resulted in Shami entering the playing XI, and in his very first match against New Zealand in Dharamshala, he made a significant impact with figures of 5 for 54. He secured another five-wicket haul in India’s match against Sri Lanka in the group stage. Shami then claimed his third five-wicket haul during the semifinal match against New Zealand, where he got 7/57. Apart from Shami, 25 more athletes were bestowed with the Arjuna Award.

On January 9, a total of 26 athletes were presented with the Arjun award.

The Arjun Award is conferred to the following disciplines:

Cricket, Asian Games, Olympic Games, World Championship Disciplines, Commonwealth Games, Parasports, Indigenous Games

List of Arjun Award 2023

Mohammed Shami – Indian cricketer – Amroha, Uttar Pradesh

Murali Sreeshankar – Indian athlete – Palakkad, Kerala

Parul Chaudhary – Indian athlete – Meerut, Uttar Pradesh

Pawan Sehrawat – Indian kabaddi player – New Delhi

Ritu Negi – Kabaddi player – Himachal Pradesh

Vaishali Rameshbabu – Indian chess grandmaster – Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Sunil Kumar – Indian amateur wrestler – South West Delhi

Antim Panghal – Indian professional wrestler – Hisar, Haryana

Krishan Pathak – Indian field hockey player – Kapurthala, Punjab

Sushila Chanu – Indian field hockey player – Imphal, Manipur

Esha Singh – Indian professional shooter – Hyderabad, Telangana

Aishwary Pratap Singh Tomar – Indian professional shooter – Khargone district, Madhya Pradesh

Diksha Dagar – Indian professional golfer – Chappar, Jhajjar, Haryana

Mohammad Hussamuddin – Indian boxer – Nizamabad, Telangana

Aditi Swami – Indian archer – Satara, Maharashtra

Ojas Pravin Deotale – Indian archer – Nagpur, Maharashtra

Ayhika Mukherjee – Indian table tennis player – Naihati, West Bengal

Harinder Pal Sandhu – Indian squash player – Chennai, Tamil Nadu

Sheetal Devi – Indian Para-Archery Player – Loidhar, Kishtwar, Jammu and Kashmir

Anush Agarwalla – Indian Equestrian – Kolkata, West Bengal

Pinki Singh – Lawn Bowls – Delhi

Divyakriti Singh – Indian Equestrian – Jaipur, Rajasthan

Ajay Kumar Reddy – Indian Para-Cricketer – Macherla, Guntur district, Andhra Pradesh

Prachi Yadav – Indian Paracanoe athlete – Gwalior, Madhya Pradesh

Naorem Roshibina Devi – Indian Wushu Player – Bishnpur District, Manipur.

Nasreen Shaikh – Indian Kho Kho Player – Shakurpur, Delhi

A total of 15 Women players got Arjun Award 2023

Parul Chaudhary, Ritu Negi, Vaishali Rameshbabu, Antim Panghal, Sushila Chanu, Esha Singh, Diksha Dagar, Aditi Swami, Ayhika Mukherjee, Sheetal Devi, Pinki Singh, Divyakriti Singh, Prachi Yadav, Naorem Roshibina Devi, and Nasreen Shaikh

Read also:

ICC Under-19 World Cup 2024 Schedule

ICC revealed nominees for December Player of the Month

Heinrich Klaasen announced retirement from test cricket on 08 Jan

1 thought on “Arjun Award 2023: Cricketer Mohammed Shami receives Arjun Award on Jan 9”

Leave a Comment