Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight, MLS won by 4 wickets


Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight, Beau Webster and Hilton Cartwright crucial partnership, Melbourne Stars defeated Sydney Sixers by 4 wickets.

Toss – Melbourne Stars have won the toss and have opted to field

Match – 14th Match, SYS vs MLS, Big Bash League 2023-24

Date – 26 December 2023 Tuesday

Time – 12:35 PM

Venue – Sydney Cricket Ground, Sydney

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight
Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight: Jonathan Merlo and Hilton Cartwright celebrating the win


Melbourne Stars (Playing XI):

Glenn Maxwell(c), Sam Harper(w), Thomas Rogers, Beau Webster, Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Imad Wasim, Jonathan Merlo, Joel Paris, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf

Sydney Sixers (Playing XI):

Moises Henriques(c), Josh Philippe(w), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Jordan Silk, Jack Edwards, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Jackson Bird, Steve Okeefe, Joel Davies

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight

Sydney Sixers Innings

Josh Philippe and James Vince provided a solid start to the innings, scoring 19 runs from 15 balls. However, the partnership was disrupted when Marcus Stoinis dismissed Philippe. Despite the setback, James Vince continued to score boundaries, but other batsmen failed to make significant contributions to the scoreboard. Daniel Hughes managed only 2 runs, while captain Moises Henriques and Jordan Silk contributed 5 runs and 1 run, respectively.

Sydney Sixers made a commendable recovery after struggling at 57/4. Jack Edwards and James Vince both made a good partnership in this challenging situation. Unfortunately, James Vince who played a crucial role in rescuing the innings, run out by Glenn Maxwel, he scores 83 runs from 55 balls including 8 fours and 2 sixes at 18 over. Then Jack Edwards also removed by Haris Rauf at 30 runs. James Vince’s innings provided a competitive total of 154/8 for Sydney Sixers.

Usama Mir and Haris Rauf were both effective with the ball, securing three wickets each, while Marcus Stoinis contributed by taking one wicket.

Sydney Sixers Scorecard

Melbourne Stars Innings

After winning the toss, Melbourne Stars chose to field first. Sydney Sixers posted a total of 154 runs in 20 overs. Thomas Rogers and Sam Harper opened the run chase for Melbourne Stars. The openers had a solid start, accumulating 28 runs without losing any wickets after four overs. Thomas Rogers, scoring 20 runs, was dismissed by Jackson Bird, and Sam Harper was also removed by Jack Edwards.

Skipper Glenn Maxwell, who hit one six and one four, was also sent back to the pavilion by Jackson Bird. Marcus Stoinis was declared lbw by Steve O’Keefe. After 10 overs, Melbourne Stars had reached 73 runs with the loss of 4 wickets.

Despite losing four wickets for 66 runs, Beau Webster and Hilton Cartwright forged a crucial fifty partnership. Beau Webster contributed 35 runs before being removed by Sean Abbott. Imad Wasim was also dismissed by Sean Abbott. Hilton Cartwright secured the victory for his team with some well-timed hits.

It was a delightful chase for Melbourne Stars. Sean Abbott and Jackson Bird each took two wickets, while Steve O’Keefe and Jack Edwards each contributed with one wicket.

Melbourne Stars Scorecard

Melbourne Stars Squad:

Joe Burns, Nick Larkin, Tom Rogers, Glenn Maxwell(c), Marcus Stoinis, Hilton Cartwright, Beau Webster, Liam Dawson, Imad Wasim, Sam Harper (wk), Scott Boland, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Brody Couch, Mark Steketee, Corey Rocchiccioli, Joel Paris, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf

Sydney Sixers squad:

Jack Edwards, Moises Henriques (c), Daniel Hughes, Hayden Kerr, Todd Murphy, Steve O’Keefe, Kurtis Patterson, Josh Philippe (wk), Jordan Silk, Tom Curran, James Vince, Steve Smith, Izharulhaq Naveed, Sean Abbott, Jackson Bird, Joel Davies, Ben Dwarshuis

Read also:

How CSK play the biggest masterstroke in IPL 2024 Auction

Rohit’s 1st press conference after 2023 Worldcup

2 thoughts on “Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Sixers highlight, MLS won by 4 wickets”

Leave a Comment