IPL 2024: Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans, Cameron Green joins with RCB


Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans

Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans, expressed his joy upon being appointed as the captain of the Gujarat Titans.

Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans
Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans, Cameron Green joins RCB and Hardik Pandya back to MI

Key Point

  • Shubman Gill is now captain of Gujarat Titans.
  • Hardik Pandya rejoined with Mumbai Indians.
  • Cameron Green joined RCB.

Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans

Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Titans have officially announced that Hardik Pandya will be making a return to the Mumbai franchise for the upcoming season of the Indian Premier League. Gujarat Titans announced Shubman Gill as the captain to lead the team in the upcoming IPL 2024.

Hardik played a crucial role in the Mumbai Indians franchise’s triumph in four out of their five titles from 2015 to 2021. Upon joining the Gujarat Titans, he successfully captained the team to a championship in their debut season in 2022. However, the team narrowly missed out on the title last year, losing in the final on the last ball from Chennai Superkings.

Mumbai Indians strategically played their card, finalizing an all-cash transaction with Royal Challengers Bangalore for Cameron Green had no alternative but to release Green (Rs 17.50 crore), and rather than including him in the auction pool, they secured a no-pay cut, all-cash deal with RCB for the all-rounder.

Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans for IPL 2024, replacing Hardik Pandya. He expressed his joy at being named the captain for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 season. After Hardik Pandya’s move to Mumbai Indians, Gill was entrusted with the captaincy responsibilities. Gill expressed pride in assuming the role and extended his gratitude to the franchise for placing their trust in him.

Shubman Gill said, ‘I am proud to assume the Captaincy of Gujarat Titans and I cannot thank the franchise enough for their trust in me to lead such a fine team. Let’s make it memorable!’

Vikram Solanki, Director of Cricket, Gujarat Titans, said: “Shubman Gill has shown growth in stature and standing over the last two years at the highest level of the game. We’ve seen him mature not only as a batter but also as a leader in cricket. His contribution on the field has helped Gujarat Titans emerge as a formidable force, guiding the team through a successful campaign in 2022 and a strong run in 2023. His maturity and skill is evident in his on-field performance and we are extremely excited to embark on a new journey with a young leader like Shubman at the helm.”

Released Player List

CSK Released players: Ben Stokes, Dwaine Pretorius, Bhagath Varma, Subhranshu Senapati, Ambati Rayudu, Kyle Jamieson, Akash Singh, Sisanda Magala.

RCB Released players: Josh Hazlewood, Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, David Willey, Wayne Parnell, Sonu Yadav, Avinash Singh, Siddarth Kaul, Kedar Jadhav, Wanindu Hasaranga, Harshal Patel.

MI Released players: Jofra Archer, Mohd. Arshad Khan, Ramandeep Singh, Tristan Stubbs, Duan Jansen, Jhye Richardson, Riley Meredith, Chris Jordan, Sandeep Warrier, Hrithik Shokeen, Raghav Goyal.

LSG Released players: Jaydev Unadkat, Daniel Sams, Manan Vohra, Suryansh Shedge, Karun Nair, Swapnil Singh, Karan Sharma, Arpit Guleria.

RR Released players: Joe Root, Jason Holder, Abdul Basith, Akash Vashisht, Obed McCoy, Murugan Ashwin, KC Cariappa, KM Asif, Kuldip Yadav.

SRH Released players: Harry Brook, Adil Rashid, Samarth Vyas, Kartik Tyagi, Vivrant Sharma, Akeal Hosein.

DC Released Players: Manish Pandey, Rilee Rossouw, Chetan Sakariya, Rovman Powell, Phil Salt, Mustafizur Rahman, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, Ripal Patel, Aman Khan, Priyam Garg, Sarfaraz Khan.

PBKS Released: Shahrukh Khan, Mohit Rathee, Raj Bawa, Baltej Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa.

KKR Released players: Shardul Thakur, Shakib Al Hasan, Litton Das, Aarya Desai, David Wiese, Narayan Jagadeesan, Mandeep Singh, Lockie Ferguson, Umesh Yadav, Johnson Charles, Tim Southee, Kulwant Khejroliya.

GT Released players: Dasun Shanaka, Yash Dayal, KS Bharat, Shivam Mavi, Urvil Patel, Pradeep Sangwan, Odean Smith, Alzarri Joseph.

Read also: IPL 2024 AUCTION Retention player list, MS DHONI will led Chennai Super Kings


4 thoughts on “IPL 2024: Shubman Gill captain of Gujarat Titans, Cameron Green joins with RCB”

Leave a Comment