Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight: South Africa defeat India by 5 wickets


Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight, South Africa won the rain-interrupted match by DLS method against India. South Africa lead the series 1-0.

Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight
Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight

Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight

Match – RSA vs IND, 2nd T20I, India tour of South Africa, 2023-24

Venue – St George’s Park, Gqeberha

Toss – South Africa won the toss and opted to field first

Date – 12 December 2023 Tuesday

Time – 8:30 PM


South Africa (Playing XI):

Matthew Breetzke, Reeza Hendricks, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(w), David Miller, Tristan Stubbs, Marco Jansen, Andile Phehlukwayo, Gerald Coetzee, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI):

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav(c), Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar

Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight

India Innings

After winning the toss and choosing to bowl, the hosts got off to a strong start as both openers were dismissed for a duck. Marco Jansen’s impactful performance began with a wicket, his exceptional seam bowling, resulted in the dismissal of opener Yashasvi Jaiswal. Next over Lizaad Williams removed Shubman Gill. Leading to both openers heading back to the pavilion without contributing any runs. After losing two early wickets of top-order batters, India found themselves under pressure.

Tilak Varma’s incredible batting performance continuously hitting boundaries removed pressure from India. Both Tilak Verma and SKY counterattacked.

Again, Rinku Singh joined with his captain, stand a dominant performance in the middle order. Shamsi bowled well, deceiving SKY. Markram successfully took out Jitesh Sharma. Both Sky and Rinku Sing score half century. SKY score 56 runs and Rinku remained unbeaten of 68 runs from 39 balls.

Rain interrupted just before the completion of the first innings. India set a total of 180/7 in 19.3 overs.

South Africa will be required to chase the revised target of 152 in 15 overs, with the powerplay limited to 5 overs. The adjusted target is determined by the DLS (Duckworth-Lewis-Stern) method.

Gerald Coetzee claimed three wickets, while Marco Jansen, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi, and Markram each took one wicket.

Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight

India has already posted a competitive total, especially considering South Africa’s inconsistent bowling. However, the rain might make bowling challenging in the second half.

India Scorecard

Yashasvi Jaiswalc Millerb Marco Jansen03
Shubman Gill lbw b Williams02
Tilak Varmac Marco Jansenb Gerald Coetzee2920
Suryakumar Yadav (c)c Marco Jansenb Shamsi5636
Rinku Singh Not out6839
Jitesh Sharma (wk)c Tristan Stubbsb Markram13
Ravindra Jadeja lbw b Gerald Coetzee1914
Arshdeep Singhc Phehlukwayob Gerald Coetzee01
Siraj Not out00
#Ind vs SA T20         7 EXTRA   19.3 overs             180/7  

Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight

South Africa Innings

Reeza Hendricks and Matthew Breetzke provided a strong start, forming a 42-run partnership in just 17 balls. Although Breetzke fell victim to a run-out, but the foundation was already laid. Markram joined in, played beautifully while Hendricks continued his aggressive batting from the other end but unfortunately, Hendricks fell short of a half-century, being dismissed by Kuldeep Yadav.

Aiden Markram contributed 30 runs from 17 balls, and David Miller added 17 runs from 12 balls, both being dismissed by Mukesh Kumar.

Tristan Stubbs and Andile Phehlukwayo maintained their composure, guiding their side to a convincing victory. South Africa successfully achieved the target of 154/5 in just 13.5 overs.

Mukesh Kumar secured two wickets. Mohammed Siraj and Kuldeep Yadav each claimed one wicket.

South Africa Scorecard

Reeza Hendricksc Suryakumar Yadav b Kuldeep Yadav4927
Matthew Breetzke run out (Tilak / Jitesh / Jadeja)167
Markramc Siraj b Mukesh Kumar3017
Klaasen c Yashasvi Jaiswal b Siraj75
Millerc Siraj b Mukesh Kumar1712
Tristan Stubbs Not out1412
Andile Phehlukwayo Not out104
#Ind vs SA T20       11 Extras       13.5 Overs               154/5


India Squad:

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar.

South Africa Squad:

Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Matthew Breetzke, Nandre Burger, Gerald Coetzee (1st and 2ndT20Is), Donovan Ferreira, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen (1st and 2nd T20Is), Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi (1st and 2nd T20Is), Tristan Stubbs, and Lizaad Williams, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Read also:

IPL 2024 Auction Retention Player list, MS Dhoni will led Chennai Super Kings

Ind Vs Aus 1st T20 Highlights: India defeated Australia by 2 wickets

India capitals vs Urbanrisers Hyderabad highlights: LLC 2023, Urbanrisers Hyderabad defeated India Capitals by 3 runs

Universe Boss Chris Gayle bat broke when hit six against Bhilwara Kings

1 thought on “Ind vs SA 2nd T20I highlight: South Africa defeat India by 5 wickets”

Leave a Comment