Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights: ADS defeated PRS by 9 wickets


Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights

Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights: Matthew Short and Chris Lynn’s partnership, ADS won by 9 wickets. Adelaide Strikers remained in sixth position in the point table. With this loss, Scorchers remains in second position.

Match – 27th Match, PRS vs ADS, Big Bash League 2023-24

Venue – Adelaide Oval, Adelaide

Date – Friday, January 05, 2024

Time – 1:45 PM

Toss – Adelaide Strikers won the toss and opted to field first


Perth Scorchers (Playing XI):

Zak Crawley, Sam Whiteman, Aaron Hardie(c), Josh Inglis(w), Laurie Evans, Cooper Connolly, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Lance Morris

Adelaide Strikers (Playing XI):

Matthew Short(c), D Arcy Short, Chris Lynn, Adam Hose, Thomas Kelly, Jamie Overton, Harry Nielsen(w), Henry Thornton, David Payne, Cameron Boyce, Lloyd Pope

As of January 5th, the Perth Scorchers have participated in a total of five matches, securing victories in four of them, and holding the second position in the points table. Their first match resulted in no decision. On the other hand, the Adelaide Strikers have won only one match out of five, with the first match being abandoned without a toss taking place.

Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights

Perth Scorchers Innings

Adelaide Strikers delivered a remarkable bowling performance, a significant improvement from the previous match against Perth Scorchers where Scorchers scored 211 runs. In the latest encounter, despite the Scorchers breaching the 200-run mark, Adelaide Strikers were vigilant from the outset, preventing the Scorchers from reaching their peak form.

From the beginning, Adelaide preventing the Scorchers from reaching their top form. The openers were dismissed very cheaply, and despite a 50+ partnership between Aaron Hardie and Josh Inglis, the Adelaide Strikers remained in contention. Lloyd Pope played a pivotal role by breaking this partnership, dismissing both batters, with Hardie contributing 35 runs and Josh Inglis 39 runs. Laurie Evans added a valuable contribution of 29 runs, and Cooper Connolly scored 23 runs.

Strikers consistently took wickets at regular intervals, limiting the Perth Scorchers to a total of 153/7.  Lloyd Pope and David Payne each secured two wickets, while Matthew Short, Thornton, and Boyce claimed one wicket each.

Perth Scorchers Scorecard

Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights

Adelaide Strikers Innings

Adelaide Strikers chased a target of 154 runs, Matthew Short played a dominant run chase, complemented by Chris Lynn’s aggressive batting. The Strikers maintained their momentum throughout the match as Perth Scorchers’s bowlers did not bowl well.

Matthew Short remain unbeaten with 76 runs while Chris Lynn hit a half century.

This win not only avenges their recent loss to the same team but also ends their four-match losing streak, keeping them in the running for the finals. The Strikers secure a convincing victory, lifting themselves out of the bottom of the table.

Lance Morris only managed to take one wicket. Additionally, this marks the first defeat for the Perth Scorchers in the current season.

Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights
Perth Scorchers vs Adelaide Strikers highlights: Short and Lynn congratulating each other after this win

Adelaide Strikers Scorecard

Matthew Short (c) Not out7651
D Arcy Shortc Laurie Evans b Lance Morris2413
Chris Lynn Not out5033
# BBL23-24                    4 EXTRAS          16.1 overs                                        154/1


Adelaide Strikers Squad:

Matthew Short(c), Harry Nielsen(w), D Arcy Short, Adam Hose, Chris Lynn, Thomas Kelly, Jamie Overton, James Bazley, Henry Thornton, Wes Agar, David Payne, Ben Manenti, Lloyd Pope, Cameron Boyce, Brendan Doggett

Perth Scorchers Squad:

Aaron Hardie(c), Josh Inglis(w), Zak Crawley, Andrew Tye, Sam Whiteman, Laurie Evans, Cooper Connolly, Ashton Agar, Jhye Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Lance Morris, Nick Hobson, Cameron Gannon, Matthew Kelly, Liam Haskett, Sam Fanning, Stephen Eskinazi, Hamish McKenzie

Point Table:

Read also:

Shortest test match in cricket history by balls bowled

South Africa vs India 2nd Test match highlights: India won by 7 wickets

Leave a Comment