Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights: Brisbane Heat won by 1 run


Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights: Xavier Bartlett and Spencer Johnson’s pivotal wickets secured a one-run victory for the Brisbane Heat, keeping them at the top of the points table.

Match – 29th Match, HBH vs BRH, Big Bash League 2023-24

Venue – The Gabba, Brisbane

Date – 07 January 2024, Sunday

Time – 1:45 PM IST

Toss – Hobart Hurricanes won the toss and opted to bowl first


Brisbane Heat (Playing XI):

Josh Brown, Colin Munro(c), Nathan McSweeney, Matt Renshaw, Sam Billings(w), Paul Walter, Michael Neser, Xavier Bartlett, Spencer Johnson, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann

Hobart Hurricanes (Playing XI):

Caleb Jewell, Ben McDermott(w), Macalister Wright, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Tim David, Nikhil Chaudhary, Chris Jordan, Patrick Dooley, Nathan Ellis(c), Riley Meredith

The Brisbane Heat currently lead the table and a victory tonight would secure their spot in the playoffs. On the other hand, the Hobart Hurricanes find themselves in a less favorable position, currently sitting in 5th place. They cannot afford many more losses in their pursuit of playoff qualification, having secured two consecutive wins.

Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights
Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights: Brisbane Heat after winning the match

Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights

Brisbane Heat Innings

Choosing to bowl after losing the toss, the Brisbane Heat had a steady start to their innings with both openers, Josh Brown and Munro, playing decently. Brown was the first to be dismissed, managing only 19 runs. Despite Munro’s somewhat slow start, he continued to score consistently while wickets fell at the other end.

Munro, after initially batting cautiously, increased his pace and effectively handled loose deliveries, ultimately becoming the top-scorer for his team with a 47-ball 56 before being dismissed by Patrick Dooley. Another notable contribution came from Paul Walter, who scored a scrappy 21-ball 22 but was removed by Chris Jordan.

The Hurricanes showcased an outstanding bowling performance, limiting the Heat to just 132—a total well below the expected standard. Their bowlers were effective in containing the Heat openers, with Riley Meredith being economical, Nathan Ellis taking two wickets, Nikhil Chaudhary providing the first breakthrough, and Chris Jordan standing out with three wickets. Captain Nathan Ellis also secured one wicket.

Brisbane Heat Scorecard

Brisbane Heat vs Hobart Hurricanes highlights

Hobart Hurricanes Innings

It’s a heartbreaking end for Nikhil Chaudhary, who played exceptionally well, bringing his team close before falling in the final over.

Michael Neser dismissed Jewell in the very first over, and Xavier Bartlett claimed two more wickets in the next over, putting the Hurricanes in a precarious position.

The situation worsened with the loss of Anderson in the 4th over also rain interruption led to a revised target of 118 in a 16-over innings.

Nikhil Chaudhary and Tim David, who put up a resilient stand. Despite looking poised for victory, a double-wicket blow from Spencer Johnson in the late stages complicated matters.

Requiring 13 runs from the final over, Chaudhary tried to hit six but couldn’t finished the job. The Brisbane Heat’s remarkable win also secures their spot in the playoffs.

A thrilling match concludes with the Heat securing their sixth consecutive victory, maintaining their unbeaten status in the competition.

Xavier Bartlett took three wickets haul while Spencer Johnson and Paul Walter each took two wickets. Michael Neser got only one wicket.

Hobart Hurricanes Scorecard

Points Table


Xavier Bartlett

Hobart Hurricanes Squad:

Nathan Ellis(c), Matthew Wade(wk), Macalister Wright, Caleb Jewell, Sam Hain, Corey Anderson, Tim David, Nikhil Chaudhary, Patrick Dooley, Riley Meredith, Liam Guthrie, Chris Jordan, Mitchell Owen, Sam Heazlett, Billy Stanlake, Peter Hatzoglou, Ben McDermott, Iain Carlisle

Brisbane Heat Squad:

Colin Munro(c), Josh Brown, Matt Renshaw, Nathan McSweeney, Sam Billings(w), Paul Walter, Spencer Johnson, Xavier Bartlett, Michael Neser, Mitchell Swepson, Jordan Buckingham, Jimmy Peirson, Hugo Burdon, Matthew Kuhnemann, Max Bryant

Read also:

The ICC Awards 2023: Full list of nominees, Virat & Jadeja nominated for Cricketer of the year

Warner concludes his dream farewell at the SCG on Jan 6, 2024

Leave a Comment