All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023


All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023: The much-anticipated ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 final is nearing, as India and Australia prepare for this monumental event at Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad on 19 November 2023 (Sunday).

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023
World Cup Final Winner list

Read also: Aus Vs. SA Highlights Semi-final 2

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023

India, the hosting nation, is aiming for their first major ICC global tournament victory in 12 years, with the advantage of having the crowd support on their home soil, reminiscent of their 2011 success.

Australia, the most successful nation in the history of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, could secure their sixth title with a triumph in India.

World Cup final

Match Schedule:

India vs Australia World Cup Final 2023: 19 November, 2023 (Sunday).


Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad

A repeat of the 2003 final, in which Australia secured a victory by 125 runs against India in Johannesburg.

2003 World Cup Final, Johannesburg, March 23, 2003

Sourav Ganguly the captain of India won the toss, elected to field first.

Australia scored 359/2

India scored 234/10 (39.2over)

Australia won by 125 runs.

PLAYER OF THE MATCH – Ricky Ponting (AUS) 140* (121)

PLAYER OF THE SERIES – Sachin Tendulkar (IND) 673 runs and 2 wickets

Ricky Ponting leads Australia to the World Cup title.

How India qualified

India smoothly progressed through the group stage, claiming the top spot with a perfect 18 points from winning all nine matches. Their impressive net run rate of 2.570 stood out as the best in the group stage.

In the semi-final match against New Zealand, Rohit Sharma led a blazing start opening partnership with Shubman Gill. Virat Kohli then achieved his 50th ODI century, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar’s milestone. India posted a commanding total of 397. While New Zealand found some relief with a century from Daryl Mitchell, but unfortunately, they were beaten by 70 runs.

How Australia qualified

Australia lost their opening two matches with India and South Africa, finding themselves at the bottom of the table. But Australia staged a remarkable comeback after initial defeats by winning the remaining seven matches, securing qualification with a total of 14 points.

In a semi-final match at Eden Gardens, Kolkata Pat Cummins’ Australia team made a resounding start by restricting South Africa to 24/4. Despite David Miller’s century giving South Africa a glimmer of hope, it was Cummins and Mitchell Starc who ultimately celebrated victory, clinching a tense three-wicket win.

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023


India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

India (Playing XI):  Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Siraj

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

Australia (Playing XI): Travis Head, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Steven Smith, Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Josh Inglis(w), Pat Cummins(c), Mitchell Starc, Adam Zampa, Josh Hazlewood

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023

Reserve Day

A reserve day can be taken if the match does not yield a result due to inclement weather.

Prize Distribution

An overall US$10 million has been announced for the tournament. The winner team gets US$4 million and the runners-up team gets US$2 million. After every stage of win teams collect US$40,000.

All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023


Live Scores Watch

For all the matches and live scores at Cricket World Cup 2023 head to

Live Watch

Globally ICC’s broadcast partner Diseny+Hotstar live all the 48 matches of the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023.

In India Star Sports channel also live all the matches. You can watch live for free on your mobile without a subscription using the HOTSTAR app.

People in the UK can watch live cricket matches on various channels like Sky Showcase, Sky Sports Mix, Sky Sports Main Event, Sky Sports Cricket, and also on the SkyGO and Sky Sports apps. Highlights of the matches will also be shown on Channel 5 and the My5 app, which you can watch for free during prime time.

Fans in the USA watch on Willow TV.

In South Africa, SuperSport and its app will broadcast the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023.

In Australia, you can watch most of the matches on Fox Sports and Kayo, and some matches will also be shown on Channel Nine and 9Now.

In UAE all the matches live streamed on STARZPLAY.

In New Zealand, ICC Men’s World Cup 2023 matches stream in Sky Sport NZ












2 thoughts on “All you need to know about World Cup Final 2023”

Leave a Comment