India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights: India beat SA by 8 wickets


India vs South Africa dream 11 prediction

India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights, Arshdeep secured a maiden five-wicket haul. Both Sai Sudharsan and Shreyas Iyer reached the half-century.

Match – 1st ODI, SA vs IND, India tour of South Africa, 2023-24

Venue – New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg

Date – 17 December 2023, Sunday

Time – 1:30 PM IST

Toss – South Africa have won the toss and have opted to bat

Burger makes his debut for South Africa and Sai Sudharsan is on debut today for India.


South Africa (Playing XI):

Reeza Hendricks, Tony de Zorzi, Rassie van der Dussen, Aiden Markram(c), Heinrich Klaasen(w), David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Andile Phehlukwayo, Keshav Maharaj, Nandre Burger, Tabraiz Shamsi

India (Playing XI):

KL Rahul(w/c), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Shreyas Iyer, Tilak Varma, Sanju Samson, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar

India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights

South Africa Innings

Choosing to bat first, South Africa made a decent start. Arshdeep quickly removed Reeza Hendricks and van der Dussen in his consecutive deliveries. Tony de Zorzi who scored 28 runs, also fell victim to Arshdeep Singh. Klaasen became Arshdeep’s fourth victim, resulting South Africa at 52/4 after 10 overs.

The situation worsened for the hosts with the introduction of Avesh Khan. Captain Aiden Markram did not impact on scoreboard, got out by Avesh Khan. David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, and Keshav Maharaj also removed by Avesh Khan.

Phehlukwayo was the top scorer with 33 runs, but Arshdeep completed his maiden five-wicket haul by dismissing him in his final over.

Kuldeep then wrapped up the innings. South Africa 116/10 in 27.3 overs. As a result, India needs 117 runs to win.

Arshdeep Singh claimed five wickets, Avesh Khan secured four wickets, and Kuldeep Yadav took one.

India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights
India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights: Arshdeep took five wicket

South Africa Scorecard

India Innings

India takes a 1-0 lead after delivering a stellar performance. Despite the absence of key players like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Rabindra Jadeja.

Ruturaj Gaikwad and Sai Sudharsan opened the run chase for India. Unfortunately, Gaikwad was dismissed lbw early in the innings by Wiaan Mulder.

However, Sai Sudharsan and Shreyas Iyer formed a commendable partnership. Both batsmen reached the half-century mark, with Sai Sudharsan remaining unbeaten with 55 runs from 43 balls. Iyer scored 52 runs from 45 balls but was eventually dismissed by Andile Phehlukwayo.

Arshdeep showcased a brilliant performance, well-supported by Avesh, as they collectively claimed 9 wickets, with Arshdeep securing a five-wicket haul.

India Scorecard


ODI squad of India:

Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C)(wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Akash Deep.

ODI squad of South Africa:

Aiden Markram (c), Ottniel Baartman, Tony de Zorzi, Reeza Hendricks, Nandre Burger, Heinrich Klaasen, Keshav Maharaj, Mihlali Mpongwana, David Miller, Wiaan Mulder, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne, Andile Phehlukwayo, Lizaad Williams, Tabraiz Shamsi.

Read also:

KL Rahul confirmed Sanju Samson will play ODI match at No 5 or 6

Rohit Sharma led by example, inspiring India’s World Cup campaign

1 thought on “India vs South Africa 1st ODI highlights: India beat SA by 8 wickets”

Leave a Comment